Congratulations to the Ski Team

Congratulations to the Men’s and Women’s ski teams for a great season.

The Men’s team was second in the McBrine Division behind Marist College, which earned them a place to Regionals at Waterville Valley, NH this past weekend. Led by strong racers Rory Stamp ’12 and Ben Mackoff ’10, the team competed in Slalom and GS against teams such as UMass, WPI, Boston College, Brown, and MIT. Jon King ’07, Brian Studwell ’09, Mike Gaines ’10, Elliott Skopin ’11, Sam Masur ’12, and Captain George Bennum ’09 were some of the other top placers this season.

The Women’s team earned 4th place in the McBrine Division behind Yale, Springfield, and URI, which did not qualify the entire team to go to Regionals, but did garner Captain Alison Schonberger ’09 with enough points to allow her to go individually to Regionals as the at-large racer from McBrine. Carolyn Szaiff ’11, Liz Valentin ’11, Anneliese Rapp ’11, Chandra Galbiati ’12, and Emily Gershen ’12 were top placers during the regular season.

The team is looking forward to next season, and is always looking for more interested people. Most of Wesleyan’s skiers never raced before coming to Wes, and some had little skiing experience. The McBrine Division is also trying to create freestyle and snowboarding leagues for next year, so if you are interested in any of the above email wesleyanskiteam (at) gmail (dot) com.

(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)

4 thoughts on “Congratulations to the Ski Team

Comments are closed.