WSA Emergency Resources

In case you haven’t noticed, there’s a hurricane coming our way. Also, we’re on life-support for Monday and Tuesday — no classes and most auxiliaries are shut down. The Wesleyan Student Assembly will continue to function as a resource to students and a conduit for addressing student concerns during this emergency.

The Wesleyan Student Assembly will be in constant communication with administrators throughout the next few days to deal with the effects of Hurricane Sandy. The WSA will be operating out of its office on the first floor of the Usdan University Center, as Usdan will serve as the physical campus hub during the emergency. All notices can be found in physical form on the doors and boards of Usdan. In addition, the WSA will operate a physical version of the RideBoard outside its office in Usdan. Please go there to offer or solicit rides to various places, whether for supplies (Price Chopper) or to assist in Middletown community emergency support efforts.

During Usdan’s operating hours, you should usually be able to find somebody at the WSA Office if you have questions or concerns. You can also attempt to reach members by email or phone; see below.

Lots of important information after the jump.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Any and all questions or concerns can be directed here. You need not contact the person ‘most relevant’ — whoever you can reach will be in touch with the others.

Zachary Malter ’13, President: zmalter[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (914) 420 8827
Mari Jarris ’14, Vice President: mjarris[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (703) 635 0546
Sam Ebb ’13, Academic Affairs: sebb[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (617) 921 3985
Nicole Updegrove ’14, Student Affairs: nupdegrove[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (512) 538 4074
Andrew Trexler ’14, Finance and Facilities: atrexler[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (603) 801 2836
Syed Ali ’13, Community Outreach: sali[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (646) 397 7254
Chloe Murtagh ’15, Coordinator: cmurtagh[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (201) 316 3658
Nicole Brenner ’15, Student Budget: nbrenner[at]wesleyan[dot]edu and (617) 921 9399

 

SAFETY AND COMMUNICATIONS:

Keep in mind that normal services may be overwhelmed or down altogether — for example, Public Safety and Middlesex Hospital will be very busy and ambulatory services will likely be quite taxed. The Davison Health Center is closed entirely and will not have prescriptions for the next three days.

Please make careful judgements of the weather before traveling anywhere on foot. Avoid driving if at all possible. All RideBoard scheduling will thus be subject to change due to inclement weather.

The Public Safety Office on High Street is a good place to go if you need help. In addition, Residential Advisors have emergency supplies including flashlights [Edit: but not land-line phones!]

Public Safety and ResLife serve as excellent resources in general.

As mentioned, all important information will be physically posted in and around Usdan.

ACADEMICS:

Assume that classes will resume Wednesday. If you assume otherwise (and, say, go home for an impromptu break) you could get screwed work-wise. A notice will be sent out Tuesday afternoon if classes are to be canceled for Wednesday, but this is not currently anticipated.

Your professors should not require you to double-up on work to make up for lost time. However, one should still plan their academic work carefully.

Concerns in this regard both during and after the emergency are best directed to Sam Ebb (see above).

POWER:

We are not expected to lose power, but in the event of power loss Wesleyan hopes to restore power to the campus core within four to five hours.

Start charging up your phones, laptops, and any other devices that can carry and transfer charge (if you haven’t been already). If everything dies, the best places to look for power are the Exley Science Center and Usdan University Center.

Use your cell phones sparingly. Power will likely be lost and there is no telling how quickly it would return. Vitally important information will be conveyed by the University via email and phone.