Tag Archives: Write-In Votes

The Best Write-In Votes of the WSA Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections

O Giant Joint, where art thou? 

Someone actually voted for Lil B this year, so I don’t feel bad using this image again.

Our long, national nightmare is over. Following an interview by schmox that rivals the University’s Reaccreditation Self-Study for length, the results of the WSA elections are in: Nicole Updegrove ’14 and Andrew Trexler ’14 will be taking seat as president and vice-president, respectively. (For anyone keeping score at home, this makes Updegrove the first female president of the WSA since Emily Polak ’05 served during the 2004-2005 academic year.) Write-in champion Giant Joint made an especially meager showing this year, receiving only 25 votes for president and 29 votes for vice-president (unless you count those three votes for “big blunt”) after a briefly resurrected social media presence:

As is pretty much traditional at this point, here are some of the most noteworthy write-in votes from the election. You can peruse the full results for yourself here.

Highlights from the WSA Write-Ins

First, a disclaimer. The results from this year’s WSA Winter At-Large Election are not nearly as exciting as those from last year, when, in addition to Giant Joint’s victory, Wesleying’s A-Batte unexpectedly won a spot on the Assembly as a write-in candidate (he took his seat and served honorably before resigning at the close of the semester). Nor is it as scandalous as 2009, when longtime write-in champion Giant Joint ‘420 came within centimeters of garnering 420 votes but was not permitted to serve.

Nonetheless, you voted early, you voted often, democracy prevailed, and the results are viewable here (you’ll have to log in and click “View Results of This Election”). In order of votes received, the winning WSA representatives-elect are Aobo “Austin” Dong ’15, Christian Hosam ’15, Bruno Machiavelo ’16, Chase Knowles ’16, deer whisperer Samuel Usdan ’15, Glenn Cantave ’15Angus McLean ’16, and Kara Linn ’15. Congrats—hope you guys weren’t too attached to Sunday nights or anything.

As usual, though, I’m more interested in the vast, colorful array of write-in votes (and not just because I received two of them). In the land before Wes Compliments, WSA write-in votes offered the best, fuzziest glimpse into Wesleyan’s well-wishing subconscious. This year Giant Joint received a disappointing 68 votes, A-Batte scored 20 (excluding the countless variations on his name), and Ron Paul received three. The rest of the write-in votes ranged from President Roth to serial killers to major U.S. cities to Mytheos Holt ’10 to—

Okay, my favorite write-in choices are listed after the jump. 

WSA Write Ins: The Highlights

Hello, and greetings from Wesleying vacation. For those inclined to care, results from the WSA At-Large election can be viewed over at the WSA voting page. The top five vote-getters, who will receive year-long terms, are Syed Ali ’13, Evan Weber ’13, Adam Fishman ’12, Rohan Singh ’11, and Jake Schneider ’14, while the next five vote-getters, who will receive half-year terms, are Dylan Keegan ’14, Aubrey Hamilton ’12, Nicole Okai ’14, Giant Joint(!!), and Rachel Warren ’14. I’m impressed with the strong showing on the part of 2014 (four out of ten ain’t bad, frosh), but I’m especially impressed with Giant Joint’s election for the second year in a row, despite not actually being a Wes student. Good going, GJ—smoke a fat one for me.

Meanwhile, as always, the results page includes an exhaustive write-in vote roundup for you to scroll through, ranging from “the dark lord voldemort” to “the gza” and probably everything in between. Jigglypuff finished with a respectable 34 votes, while Wigglytuff and Huge Spliff grabbed a solid 14 and 13, respectively. For the hell of it, here are some highlights from the write-in pile.